Did a little CopyScaping tonight and found a few thieves, the first of whom is Janie Matthews of Eva Jane’s Professional Remote Office Services at: http://janie.startlogic.com/evajanes/1701.html
This Virtual Assistant stole the entire content from my Home and How It Works pages on my personal business website at www.therelief.com. She also posted the first page of our VACOC Client’s Guide to Virtual Assistants to her blog as if she had written it herself.
1. My Home Page at The Relief Virtual Assistance: http://therelief.com/
Eva Janes Home page (in PDF with stolen content highlighted): http://www.virtualassistantnetworking.com/infringements/1EvaJanesHomePage.pdf
2. My How It Works page at The Relief Virtual Assistance: http://therelief.com/howitworks.htm
Eva Janes How It Works page (in PDF with stolen content highlighted): http://www.virtualassistantnetworking.com/infringements/2EvaJanesHowItWorksPage.pdf
3. VACOC Client’s Guide to Virtual Assistants: Benefits of Support page: http://www.virtualassistantnetworking.com/client-guide.htm
Just Josie Blog post on October 21, 2008: http://www.virtualassistantnetworking.com/infringements/3JustJosieBlog.pdf
UPDATE 11/8/08: Got ahold of site owner Janie Matthews who hung up on me. Sent a cease & desist by email. She has 24 hours to remove my stolen intellectual property. After that it all goes to my intellectual property attorney in New York (who is a pitbull, I might add).
UPDATE 11/8/08: The email she used on her site of info@evajanes.com actually forwards to a completely different domain. I don’t know if this is one of her clients or an employer. Received an email failure message. Re-submitting cease & desist via her web form.
UPDATE 11/10/08: Web form not working. Called her and this time she was singing a different tune. Says she will delete everything and that she hired a web-designer off Craigslist. Swore she would send me so-called designer’s name and info.
UPDATE 11/10/08: Got an email from infringer and it appears she has taken down all pages. Says she can’t find designer’s contact info but that she will dig around and email me back.
UPDATE 11/14/08: Still no word. I think it’s BS, but I’m holding her to her word. If there IS a so-called web designer scamming people on Craigslist and stealing content from other Virtual Assistants, I want to not only put them on notice, but also warn others.









